Roles & Responsibilities

Western Isles Health Board is made up of 15 members and exists to improve the health and wellbeing of the population and to provide the highest quality healthcare services in the Western Isles, This is achieved through efficient, effective and accountable governance of the local system and by providing strategic direction and leadership. The Board is made up of both Executive and Non-Executive Directors.

The key roles of the Board include:

Executive Directors

Supporting the Chief Executive to achieve the organisation's objectives are five Executive Directors:

Each Executive Director is a Board member and has responsibility for a different area. For example, the Medical Director is responsible for professional medical advice to the Board and for building, motivating and developing a team of clinicians to drive forward service modernisation. The Nurse Director/Chief Operating Officer meanwhile is responsible for the provision of specialist advice to the Board on all matters relating to the provision of nursing, midwifery and allied health professional services.

The Chief Executive is also a member of Western Isles Health Board and has accountability to the Board for the overall organisation; including management and staffing.

The Chief Executive is the Accountable Officer, which means that he is responsible for ensuring public funds are properly controlled and safeguarded, that proper financial systems are in place and applied, and that arrangements are in place to secure 'Best Value'. The Chief Executive is responsible for providing leadership to ensure the complete delivery of agreed plans on time and to budget, and devises and implements management structures and processes to enable the organisation to implement agreed corporate plans.

Non Executive Directors

There are eight Non Executive Directors appointed to Western Isles Health Board. This includes one local authority representative, an Employee Director and the Chair of the Area Clinical Forum.

Non Executive Board Members work with the Chair and other Board members to ensure governance arrangements are sound, and to oversee:

Non Executive Directors are appointed for a maximum of four years in any one term (and can sit as Board members for a maximum of two terms in succession). Remuneration for Non Executive Directors is £7,405 per annum.

The Chair has some additional responsibilities over and above the other Non Executive Directors, particularly in relation to strategic leadership and the conduct of Board business. These include:

The Chair is appointed for a maximum of four years in any one term (and can sit for a maximum of two terms in succession).

Register of Interests of Directors - 1/8/15 to 17/11/16


Board Members:


Neil Galbraith
Mr. Neil Galbraith O.B.E
Gordon Jamieson
Mr. Gordon Jamieson
Chief Executive
Maggie Watts
Dr. Maggie Watts

Director of Public Health
Debbie Bozkurt
Debbie Bozkurt
Acting Director of Finance
Angus McKellar
Dr Angus McKellar

Medical Director
Chris Anne Campbell Mrs. Chris Anne Campbell
Nurse Director
Jennifer Porteous
Ms. Jennifer Porteous

Director of Human Resources and Workforce Development
Rosemary Bugler
Rosemary Bugler

Non-Executive Director
Margaret Mackenzie
Margaret Mackenzie
Non-Executive Director
Ian Burgess
Mr. Ian Burgess
Non-Executive Director
DSC 4478 - Mairi Murray 3
Mrs. Mairi Murray

Non-Executive Director


Cllr. Angus McCormack

Non-Executive Director / Comhairle Representative

 Gill McCannon
Gill McCannon
Non-Executive Director
Diane McPherson  Diane McPherson
Non-Executive Director
Murdo MacMillan
Murdo MacMillan
Non-Executive Director